Ministry of the Baptized

All members of New Song are ministers in our congregation. Most members serve the church in a variety of roles, including as ushers, choir members, acolytes, lectors, and lay eucharistic ministers.

In addition, our staff includes a team of priests and deacons who work collaboratively to keep New Song a loving and lively community of faith.

Jane Stewart is our priest-in-partnership.
Bio photo
Lori Erickson serves as a deacon at New Song.

We’re fortunate to have retired clergy at New Song as well:

E. Coulter image
Elizabeth Coulter, our founding priest, helped establish New Song in 1994.
John Harper
Deacon John Harper partnered with Elizabeth Coulter in the founding of New Song.
Mel Schlachter has been rector at churches that include Trinity in Iowa City.

Our music ministry is directed by Linda Stewart Kroon:

IMG_5344 (1)

Toni Martins is our Office Administrator:

unnamed (4)

Additional staff include:

Parish Administrator: Jim Conger

Property Warden: Bob Sessions

Our Vestry is our governing body, called the council in some churches. New Song’s current vestry with end-of-term dates: Laurie Aude (2023); Stephanie Dotzel (2025); Nancy Reincke (2025); Jerry Howe (2024); Peg Johnson (2024); Chris Kellerman (2024); Katharine Nicholson (2023); Lois Oba (2023) and Esther Smith (2025).